Jennifer's R.O.a R. on living green.

Recycle, Organic, and Reducing

“O” for Organic in Urban Farming

Leave a comment

Continuation on organic foods.

My first post shared my reasons why organic foods are beneficial to your health.  This post has an inspirational touch to it.  My focus for this blog  is to connect with non-profit organizations, blogs with similar interest, but most importantly, educate individuals about recycling, organic farming and reducing energy.

My first experience with gardening took place when I had my first child, Harrison.  My son has cerebral palsy from premature birth.  He has physical limitations which caused developmental delays.  I noticed he did not like sand, dirt or grass. This motivated me to expose him to gardening so he could gradually get over his sensory issues.  Since Harrison could not walk or run like other children, I thought gardening would be a great way for him to spend time outside.  We started with just planting flowers. Eventually, I got brave enough to plant tomatoes, cucumbers, pumpkins and watermelon, which I do not recommend planting as a beginner gardener. Tomatoes are difficult to grow and require lots of attention. Pumpkins and watermelons need lots of room to grow because they are long vines. Cucumbers were the only vegetable that survived my first garden experience. Cucumbers grow fast and they do well in NC or SC.

Despite my failure growing tomatoes, pumpkins or watermelons the thrill of growing something excited me.  I was hooked on gardening.  Planting and watering seeds with my son was priceless.  My son went to a special school with other special needs children.  During his time at Easter Seals UCP developmental center, I met parents with children who had autism.  Some of these parents truly believed processed foods and sugar were causing their children to have extreme behavioral episodes.  After several doctor appointments and therapy sessions, these parents were able to control their children’s behaviors through healthier diets.  Listening to parents explain those diets got me thinking about food.

Could food really cause mental health issues? 

Fast forward to now, I truly believe food contributes to mental illnesses and other health issues that children or adults struggle with.  My passion for organic gardening continues to grow.  Each summer I try new ways to grow organic vegetables.  I spend time reading books like the Farmer’s Almanac. Watch gardening shows on T.V. or YouTube videos.  Below is a video on Urban Gardening in Southern California.  The farm is in the middle of a urban neighborhood with the highway behind the house.  A father transformed his entire yard into a farm because he did not want to give his children chemically enhanced foods produced by BIG BUSINESS.  The farm is self-sufficient and makes money to feed the animals. I hope this video inspires you to start the gardening process. Video was produced by Food Abundance Academy who’s mission is stated below:

Solving hunger worldwide by facilitating local food hyper-production. 

If millions of people grow abundant food locally, hunger doesn’t stand a chance. Become part of the solution:

SEE the Future. FEED the Future. CHANGE the Future. Now go grow some food!

Anyone can do it, once you learn how.

  • 12,199 subscribers
  • 1,241,083 views
  • Joined Mar 16, 2012

http://youtu.be/NCmTJkZy0rM

Questions to ponder:

  • Is raised bed gardening difficult?
  • What are the initial cost to start a small garden?
  • How do I find literature about organic gardening?

I have included links to websites that can get you started.  Remember gardening is “ART”.  Seth Godin writes in The Icarus Deception people need to challenge their comfort and safety zones by questioning everything. “We settled for a safety zone that wasn’t bold enough, that embared authority and compliance” (Godin, 2012, p.3).   Conventional methods of producing foods  is our comfort zone which stems from the industrial age of big business, big machines making fast quantities more efficiently.  Godin suggests we “seek out questions, not answers” (p. 58).  Organic gardening is my way to connect the untested and personal truth of ART.  Hopefully this post will encourage readers to seek out new ways to buy or produce foods which will benefit our communities health mentally, physically or behaviorally.

Related articles

Author: Jennifer Reid

Caring wife and mom, who wants to change daily habits for improving the environment. I believe that each person can make subtle changes. Recycling is one of those subtle changes. Learning about how and what is recyclable can lower energy, water and natural resources. Our earth is limited with her resources. Be kind to her and she will be kind to us. Please think before you consume or throw away!

Leave a Reply

