Jennifer's R.O.a R. on living green.

Recycle, Organic, and Reducing

What’s your organic food IQ? by GoodHousekeeping.com

Leave a comment

Click on this link to begin your fun quiz.    What’s your organic food IQ? by GoodHousekeeping.com

The Daily Green lists several quizes on issues related to living green, but this quiz directly relates to my last two blogs on organic foods. Please take a moment and find out your IQ on organic foods. Do you think organic is over-rated? If so, why? Please share your thoughts on the pros and cons of organic foods.

  • What does the word “Natural” really mean on labels?
  • Did you know what the acronym “COOL” stands for?
  • Are farm raised fish better than the real thing caught in the wild?
  • Should we care of cattle’s weight?
  • Have you ever heard of Biodynamic Winemaking?
  • What is the percentage rate of organic ingredients on labels?
  • How awesome are onions?
  • How far do grapes travel?
  • What is the slow food movement?

Take the quiz to find out. 

It upsets me to see the word “Natural” on labels that are full of manufactured chemicals.  Today’s marketing over uses the word “Natural” or “Organic”. Why? I think it’s wrong because it’s misleading and untrue.

Over the past 10 years, I have observed more children with cancer, autism or ADHD systems, which causes me to think about the cause for the increase in childhood illnesses.  Having a child with Cerebral Palsy has given me opportunities to meet other children with special needs or illnesses.  I will never forget a conversation I had with a mother about her child’s autistic tendencies are  being controlled through diet.  This was new to me. I never thought about food being a cause in autistic behaviors.  Controlling sugars, artificial dyes and other chemicals in food, this child was making enormous strides in a healthy productive life.

These days, I read as much as I can about food being linked to other illnesses like cancer or obesity.  My blog is to encourage readers to stop and think about what kind of food is entering your body.  I know it’s hard to eat the proper organic food all the time, but I’m not asking you to do that.  I’m just asking you to try and make little changes to your eating habits which over time will result in better over all eating habits.  I struggle feeding my own kids healthy organic food all the time. They don’t like it because their taste buds like the artificially sweetened or salted food.  I wish I knew more about food when my kids were little. It would have made it easier to serve unprocessed foods to my kids.

My desire is to slowly change our old food choices  one small step at a time.

Author: Jennifer Reid

Caring wife and mom, who wants to change daily habits for improving the environment. I believe that each person can make subtle changes. Recycling is one of those subtle changes. Learning about how and what is recyclable can lower energy, water and natural resources. Our earth is limited with her resources. Be kind to her and she will be kind to us. Please think before you consume or throw away!

Leave a Reply

